Saying Yes

IMG_1418
photo from my recent trip to Yosemite

As I’ve gotten older, I have come to realize how much of an introvert I am (see this test). And with that, I tend to be a bit of a “no” person. This is not to be confused with the opposite of being a “yes man”. It’s not that I never say yes; I am there for my family and friends and when I have something planned I (usually) make it happen. But when something new and spontaneous comes up, like a friend asks at the last minute to come hang out by their pool or to go for a hike, I tend to hesitate. Now this may also come from my lack of spontaneity and need to be tediously organized and planned. I’m working on it, trust me. This thought recently came to me when a friend did ask me to do something last minute and I said “no”, to my dismay. I wasn’t even doing anything but I had it set in my mind that I was going to relax that day and catch up on some errands and cross off things on my to-do list.

After I passed on my friend’s request, I sat there and I remembered a Fresh Air episode that I had listened to where Terry Gross had interviewed Shonda Rhimes on her book, Year of Yes. When I first heard that interview, because of my nature, I immediately thought it was going to be about how she took on too much and spent a year finally saying no to people. I mean, it was in the title and I still thought that. And when I first heard it, I found myself disagreeing with her a lot. But after this instance with a friend, I started to recognize the importance of what Shonda was saying. I went back and listened to her Ted Talk on the subject.

fullsizerender-11
photo from last year’s trip to Joshua Tree National Park

I’m moving away from California in just a few months, and after 4 years here I worry that I haven’t taken advantage of where I am enough. In the last year or so, knowing that I was planning on this move, I have made some bigger trips even going solo if necessary. But sometimes, it’s the little things that I’ve missed out on that really make an experience, especially when you live in such a beautiful place. The random trips up to LA, seeing a concert with friends in a cool venue, going for a new hike, getting drinks on a random Tuesday, or going to sit by the pool and just relaxing. While I have done these things, I sometimes wish I had done them more.

Which is why in these last few months here, I am planning on making the best of my time. I am going to say yes(!) more and stop worrying about all the little things that need to get done. In the long run, those don’t matter. And because I know that I will end up enjoying myself. While I haven’t actually read her book yet, I plan on doing that soon to continue my education and hopefully have more than just 3 months of yes.

 

The last photos were taken on a recent trip up to LA. A friend and I spent the day visiting Echo Lake Park, eating lots of food and trying a couple new and interesting drinks, and capping the day with $30 worth of desserts 🙂

IMG_1997IMG_2001IMG_2006IMG_2010IMG_2014

 

 

Leave a Reply

