Summer Storms

storm2

Ever since I was a child, I’ve had a love/hate relationship with thunderstorms. After a particularly traumatizing experience at a young age, involving a terrible storm and a tornado warning, I would get anxious when I saw the dark clouds rolling in and the wind whipping the trees. I loved the movie Twister (I can’t even count how many times I’ve seen that movie) but had no desire to experience any storm close to that. Growing up in Massachusetts, we had our fair share of severe thunderstorms and sometimes tornado watches and warnings. As I got older, storms were less anxiety-inducing and now that I live in Southern California and thunderstorms are few and far between, I find myself missing them. And actually enjoying when it does thunder. It gives me a weird feeling of nostalgia.

storm5

While I’ve never experienced anything quite like some of these extreme storms, I was mesmerized by these photos by photographer Chad Cowan. They are terrifying and eerie and beautiful at the same time. They capture the awesome power of Mother Nature.

storm8storm7storm1storm3storm6storm4

 

(all photos by Chad Cowan via My Modern Met; also check out a timelapse video of his work there)

Leave a Reply

