Fitness · Personal

Fitness Friday

bike

For quite some time, I’ve been intrigued by the idea of competing in a triathlon. Don’t get me wrong, I am not crazy enough to think I could ever complete an Iron Man; I have always been in awe of the people who have the drive and strength to finish one. To be honest, I never really thought much of triathlons before a friend competed in one during our time in Physical Therapy school. When she competed in a sprint triathlon, her enthusiasm for it and the accomplished feeling she had when she finished was inspiring. Before this, I didn’t know there were different levels and difficulties.

A sprint triathlon is composed of a half mile swim, a twelve mile bike ride, and a three mile run (or a 5K). So here’s the tricky part. I don’t have a lot of experience with any of these. I used to run when I lived in Boston but haven’t in years. I can swim but the last time I swam a freestyle was probably when I learned how to swim at 5 years old. The twelve mile bike ride wouldn’t be too bad but on top of the other two? I’m not so sure.

But still, something keeps me interested in this. Perhaps it’s the challenge and attempting something that I never thought I could ever (in a million years) accomplish.

run

I decided to do some research and found a few training schedules to follow. Of course, I would need to start by getting more comfortable in all three of these areas which would take a much longer time. But it seems like it’s a plausible long-term goal.

There are loads of triathlons hosted every year, of all difficulties. I’m looking more into the ones in the Boston area ;). While I don’t think I would be ready to compete in any of these anytime soon, it’s nice to know that the options are there. I don’t know how much I could hold myself to this but I would like to have accomplished this goal by the end of next year. I think that’s a safe enough amount of time to train and prepare myself mentally for this challenge. It feels like a daunting task but I wouldn’t be doing it to win, but for the feeling of accomplishment that I can imagine comes with completing a triathlon.

swim

Here are some triathlon training tips that might be useful. Has anyone competed in a triathlon? Or want to? Do you have any other tips for how to start?

 

(photos by Corbis images via)

Leave a Reply

