Family · Personal

Happy Father’s Day

Scan 4

I’ve always been a “daddy’s girl” ever since I was very young. The youngest of three kids (my parents call me a “pleasant surprise”), I was close to my dad from as far back as I can remember. From holding my hand when I was scared, coaching me in many different sports and cheering me on at all of those games and practices (when he could make it), laughing at my dumb jokes (and vice versa), and supporting me through my chosen career path and schooling, he has always, always been there for me. When I was little, he would call me “Little Bit”; I have no idea where the name came from but I loved that and it made me feel so special at the time. I look back on it fondly now.

Scan 8

I’ve always been very close to both of my parents and my father is someone who I continuously went to for advice (and still do). He has taught me so many important life lessons. Ever since finishing PT school, he has tried to instill in me a drive to be as independent as possible, and reminds me that it’s a really good thing to be able to take care of myself. Part of that is starting to save for my future now. He shared with me how he waited too long, and although he got lucky later in life it doesn’t always turn out that way. And now, besides that one pesky phone bill, I am (at least) financially independent and have already started saving for my future.

DSC_0023-1

On a lighter note, I share my dad’s sometimes quirky sense of humor. While we all can laugh together, I think he and I share a special comedic bond that no one else gets. He also blessed me with the gift of road rage (they don’t call us MASSholes for no reason) and my love of Boston sports and gin. 🙂

All kidding aside, my dad is probably one of the most selfless people I know. I mentioned how I felt very close to him from as far back as I can remember, and sometimes I think that was because when I was a kid those moments weren’t as often. Not because he didn’t want to be there but because he worked so tirelessly to support our whole family. He and my mother were able to support me throughout graduate school, something that I didn’t expect and definitely didn’t take for granted. A favorite memory of my college days were our rides home from the Riverside T station, where he would pick me up for the weekend with my suitcase full of laundry. We talked the whole way home; I loved those rides. I remember one specific drive back to the city where I told him that I don’t always thank him, but that I hoped he knew how much I appreciated what he and my mom were able to do for me so I could get through school with as little debt as possible. And I remember he answered by saying thank you but he didn’t do it for the appreciation. It was hard for me to understand then and I’m sure I won’t fully until I’m a parent but I’ve since come to realize how much sacrifice comes with being a parent and my dad always does it willingly. I have never second guessed how much he loves his kids.

So today, I wanted to say thank you again. And I hope you have a wonderful Father’s Day. Take it easy for once. 🙂 Love you, Dad!

And Happy Father’s Day to all the other dads out there.

IMG_5521

IMG_5543IMG_5508561475_520906269653_1345947897_nSNV34089IMG_4967IMG_5108Scan 27IMG_4928DSC_0435IMG_6344

 

Leave a Reply

