Ten Questions to Ask Your Mother

IMG_0416

I’ve always been close to my mom. As the youngest of three, she kept me with her at all times until that day at 3 years old when she left me for the first time at preschool. I actually have foggy memories of that day; I remember painting and crying, playing with toys and crying, attempting to do a puzzle and crying. Clearly, it was a traumatic day for me 🙂 and the preschool teacher said it best when she told my mom, “I’ve never seen a little girl love her mommy more.” And then in high school, at a time when I was supposed to “hate” my mother and fight with her constantly, instead I always thought it was a little weird how much my friends seemed to be at odds with their mothers. While my mom and I of course had our spats here and there, it never went on very long. Up to now, our relationship has changed somewhat and expectedly become more of an adult relationship, although living far apart has its challenges when it comes to finding the time to talk. When we do talk now it is sometimes about more difficult topics but I recognize that my mother respects and really listens to my opinions. She asks for my help and advice and of course I still ask for her advice. She continues to be my sounding board when I need to make a big decision. And she (or my father) is the first person I want to tell when something big or exciting happens. We even like to get drinks together. Now that’s the sign of a true adult relationship with your parents. 🙂

Scan 3DSC_0002SNV34097IMG_4937DSC_0023-1IMG_0139photo-33431428_3591001454012_560354164_n

When I came across these 10 questions to ask your mother, I started to understand how one-sided child/parent relationships can be and how selfless our parents really are. They would never expect their children to ask them these questions. And once I read them, I realized that I really wanted to know the answers. I wanted to know when my mom decided she wanted to be a mother or what question she would ask her own mother (most importantly because her own mother died when my mom was only 16).

In honor of Mother’s Day, below are my mom’s answers. These are her own words, with some of my comments throughout. So if you want, follow these questions or use it as a guide to come up with your own. It’s an easy way to learn just a little more about the woman who raised you.

SNV33332

Happy Mother’s Day to all the wonderful moms out there (and especially my own mom)!


Outside of family members, who inspires you the most? I would have to say T (my mother’s long-time friend) in particular for her determination and energy. She’s always willing to lend a helping hand and isn’t afraid to say what she thinks. She’s overcome many obstacles in her life with faith and hope in the future.

How would your childhood friends describe you? I think they would say I was kind, a bit shy, fun to be with, honest and smart. 

What is better about the world today than when you were growing up? I believe people in general try to be more tolerant of our differences. I love that there are more equal opportunities for girls/women in academics and sports in particular.

What’s the best gift you’ve ever received? The best gift I ever received was my 3 diamond mother’s ring from your dad on Christmas. The letters that came with it were as special as the gift itself. (I remember this Christmas morning; my father wrapped the ring in lots of boxes with letters written to my mom in each box. My mother couldn’t get through reading them without crying so I took over. Unfortunately, I had a difficult time too. I’m pretty sure it was the first Christmas where we all cried.)

If you could instantly have one new skill, what would it be? Hands down, musical talent, especially vocal!

When did you know you had found the one? A few months ago. (Haha) All kidding aside, I believe you are attracted to someone at a time in your life when you’re ready to be a family, but only time will tell if that person is truly the one for you. The commitment you have to each other plays out over time until you finally realize that this is the person God meant for you. 

When did you know you wanted to be a mom? Since I played with dolls when I was a little girl. I love babies and little children. I love their innocence, vulnerability, and playfulness. (I must take after my mother because I have always known that I wanted to be a mother, ever since I was a little girl playing with my dolls :))

What was the hardest thing about being a mother? The most rewarding? (to young children) The hardest thing for me was feeling I had to be the best mom and not always trusting my instincts. I really would have loved to have my mom to support me. The best thing is the unimaginable love you feel for another human being. Priceless!

If you could go back in time to any period in history, where would you go and why? Probably to the woman’s suffrage movement and the passage of the 19th amendment. I would have loved to be part of something that made right a ridiculous injustice. Can you imagine how the women who fought so hard and suffered so long because of their convictions must have felt on August 18, 1920?! (I agree!)

What question would you ask your mother? I hope you don’t mind but I’d rather tell you what I’d say to her. Mom, I understand. I’m okay. I’m sorry you suffered so much. I look forward to being with you in heaven. 

Love you, Mom ♥

IMG_4913

One thought on “Ten Questions to Ask Your Mother

  1. Thank you Rachel! You have always been a blessing to me. I can’t imagine my life without you. I love you so very much.

    Like

Leave a Reply

