A World Without Language Barriers

I have always wanted to be fluent in another language. I took 8 years of Spanish in school but besides learning how to conjugate to different tenses and have basic conversational skills, the ability to hold a conversation naturally in Spanish is a struggle. Since I treat a lot of Spanish-speaking patients, my skills have definitely improved, at least when it comes to being able to complete a therapy session. But I also have patients who speak lots of different languages: Vietnamese, Farsi, Arabic, Chinese, Korean. Besides knowing the words for pain in most of those languages, my ability to communicate with those patients is very limited and can make treatment challenging, to say the least. Introducing this new translator from Waverly Labs, a discrete earpiece that along with the app, allows two people to have a natural, more organic conversation in their own languages (instead of, as the creator says, with your phones as a barrier). When one person speaks, the other hears it in their native language and vice versa. Such a fascinating and ingenious idea. Currently in its final stages of development, the translator should be available by this summer. In fact, one of my coworkers contributed to their Kickstarter and will be receiving the earpiece when it is completed.

Although I still aspire to become fluent in at least one other language, this would be extremely beneficial, especially in my work where I could come across 4 different languages in one day. I could have a normal conversation instead of typing into Google Translate and hoping the translation is accurate.

Great job breaking down language barriers, Waverly Labs!

 

(artwork by Nathan Blaisdell via Odyssey)

Leave a Reply

