My City: Sidecar Doughnuts

In “My City,” as a way to experience and enjoy more of where I live, I will share new and interesting places, restaurants, things to do, etc. as well as some of my tried and true favorites in Orange County and Southern California. Today, Sidecar Doughnuts in Costa Mesa.ย 

IMG_0549

I have always had a major sweet tooth and donuts are no exception. In fact, when there is a donut around (which is often at work) it’s hard for me to resist. So it’s fair to say that I have tried my fair share of donuts in the past. But I have to admit, Sidecar Doughnuts is quite possibly my favorite that I’ve ever had (sorry, Dunkin Donuts).

Started in 2012 by Sumter and Chi-Lin Pendergrast and chef Brooke Desprez, they’ve quickly developed a bit of a cult following. Per their website,

“[They are] a creative team brought together by a shared vision of creating a beautiful, new type of gathering place for their beloved community…one offering perfectly hand-crafted doughnuts, delicious coffee, and infectious smiles for all.”

IMG_0548

Emily and Lorelei met me the other morning for a coffee and some doughnuts. With interesting and unique flavors, it was hard to choose only a few. I would have loved to try them all. They have daily flavors, with special monthly flavors consistent with the season. March’s flavors include St. Patrick’s cake, Cara Cara Orange, and Salty Caramel. I decided to try three of their daily flavors: Huckleberry, Saigon Cinnamon Crumb, and Choc A Lot. The cinnamon donut had just come out of the oven (? deep fryer?) and I have never tasted a more delicious and fresh donut.

I was also surprised at how busy it was on a Monday morning, which speaks to the “community” that they’ve created.

IMG_0558

IMG_0560

Lorelei enjoyed them too and couldn’t seem to get enough! I think we created a little donut monster. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMG_0552IMG_0554

There are currently only two locations, one in Costa Mesa and the other in Santa Monica. You should definitely check them out if you are ever in the area.

Sidecar Doughnuts/270 E 17th Street/Costa Mesa, CA 92627/www.sidecardoughnuts.com

Leave a Reply

