Family · Holiday · Personal

Christmas in California

christmas

Growing up on the East Coast, Christmas was a time for snow and cold weather, hot chocolate, sledding and building snowmen, scarves and sitting by the fire. It’s exactly what you see in all the Christmas movies. So moving to California was an interesting change, especially around the holidays. For the first two years here, I flew back East for Christmas. But last year and this coming year, I will be staying in California. Although it gets colder, by California standards (60 degrees is chilly for us), it has been difficult to get into the Christmas spirit living here. For native Californians it feels normal, but for someone who grew up on the East Coast, it is a foreign concept.

So last year I bought a fake Christmas tree and white lights, made mulled wine, and watched all of my favorite Christmas movies. There was no snow but luckily it was in the 50s that day, so it at least didn’t feel like summer.

This year, as I did last year, I’ve decided to make the most of it. I’m eager to watch the 25 Days of Christmas, drink (spiked) apple cider in my Christmas mug, decorate my apartment, and spend some time walking around the lavishly decorated South Coast Plaza. Emily, Jeremy, and I are also planning a couple Christmas-related trips, especially now that Lorelei is here (not that she will appreciate most of it just yet). I will share those here later this month. I will also be writing some Christmas-y posts as it gets closer to the actual day.

As this is most likely my last Christmas in California, I intend to enjoy the beautiful weather while I’m here and spending this time with family. I am definitely looking forward to the holidays this year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

